AS IT HAPPENED: Slough Borough Council elections

Express reporting team

Our editorial team is here throughout the night, bringing you the latest news from the local election count for Slough.

03:20am: Right we're signing off now but see next week's Slough Express for all the coverage and check out the gallery of photos (above) from the night. 

03:13am: To sum up Labour took two wards in a night where both the main parties successfully defended their other seats. Cllr James Swindlehurst's group took the Upton ward from Tory Wal Chahal. 

Labour also took Langley St Mary's, previously held by Independent cllr Diana Coad who decided not to re-stand. 

James Swindlehurst said: "We were hopeful that we would gain at least one of Upton or Langley, I wasn't sure if I was banking on both. 

"We did speak to 31,000 people on the doorstep, one in three electors in Slough we've had a conversation with of some description."

He added it was pleased to have held on to Colnbrook with Poyle. 

02:58am: And the last few... 

Britwell and Northborough ward

LAB Rob Anderson 1671(Labour hold) 

CON Rajora Chandi 415

Cippenham Green Ward

LAB DAVIS Roger Francis 1206 (Labour hold)

CON GILL Alfred 642

UKIP Nick Smith 116

Colnbrook with Poyle Ward

LAB CHEEMA Avtar Kaur  697 (Labour hold)

CON BEDI Puja 620

Colnbrook Parish Council - by election 

Ind LEVER Olwyn Margaret 680

Con VIRDI Jagjit Singh 575

2:50am: These ladies wanted a group photo. They were counting votes and managed to get 100 per cent accuracy on the counting front. Good work girls. 

02:47am: More results coming in

Cippenham Meadows Ward

LAB PARMAR Dilbagh Singh 1262 (Labour hold)

LIB DEM PLIMMER Robert Clive  460

CON RAMPAUL Aryan Shivam  397

Langley Kedermister Ward

LAB BROOKER Preston 1096 (Labour hold)

LIB DEM HANNEY Josephine Mary 95

IND O'REILLY Sharon Teresa Bernadette 128

CON SHARMA Meena 783

Haymill & Lynch Hill Ward

CON WRIGHT Anna 1093 (Conservative hold)

LAB BEGUM Ruqayah 697

Lib Dem PARKES Niccola Caitlin 209

Wexham Lea Ward

LAB DAR Haqeeq Ashraf 1693 (Labour hold)

CON HOLMES Darren Edward 556

02:36am: James has been speaking to the councillor for Upton. 


02:25am: Not too many smiles coming from the Conservative party 

02:24am: Meet your new Labour councillor for St Mary's ward Harjinder K Minas 

02:23am: Another ward has come in 

Baylis and Stoke

Lab Fiza Ahmed MATLOOB 2289 (Labour hold)

Con  David John MUNKLEY  290

02.13am: Reporter James Hockaday has been speaking to the newly elected councillor 

01:57am: Some results are coming in

Central Ward

LAB ALI Safdar  1622 (Labour hold) 

CON RYSNIK Sebastian Rafal  437


Chalvey Ward

LAB SHARIF Mohammed 1478 (Labour hold) 

CON DUDA Greg 484

Elliman Ward

LAB DHALIWAL Arvind Singh  1282 (Labour hold) 

CON PETTMAN Lee Scott  259

LIB DEM TAYLOR Matthew Benedict 101

Farnham Ward

LAB SABAH Muhammad Waqas 1707 (Labour hold) 

Con MANKU Gurcharan Singh 710

Langley St Mary`s Ward

LAB MINHAS Harjinder Kaur  1204 (Labour gain) 

CON BAMIGBOLA Christine 842

GREEN EDMONDS Julian Edward Jubal 126

IND JAMES Jonathan 127

Upton Ward

LAB BAINS Balvinder Singh 1586 (Labour gain) 


01:49am: We've got some stats for you. 

The ward with the highest turnout was Baylis and Stoke with 39.95 per cent, closely followed by Upton with 39.35 per cent (which the Express understands may swing)

The wards with the lowest turnout was Cippenham Meadows with 27.9 per cent, and Elliman with 27.33 per cent.

To see a full breakdown visit 

01:45am: Each to their own... 

01:41am: Latest we're hearing. Announcement expected soon. 

01.03am: Verification has finally been announced. Total votes 29,679 which equates 31.5 per cent turnout. 

This is slightly higher than the 30.85 per cent for May 2016 local elections. 

12:57am: Reporter James Hockaday has been speaking to the Mayor of Slough. 

When asked about campaigning, Mayor Cllr Ishrat Shah, who can't make partisan comments, gave a very diplomatic answer: "It's nice to see that both parties were strongly campaigning. At the end of the day it's up to the public to decide who they want to support."

12:50am: The final postal boxes have arrived. So now they just need to be counted and verified. And then the real count can begin - hurrah! 

12:43am: Still waiting and oh the gifs have started. 

12:30am: Still waiting. But can confirm the cafe serves nice coffees and slush puppies 

12:15am: Not much to update here. We're still waiting for these votes.....

11:40pm: We've just been told that all but one box currently here have been verified, but we're still waiting on some votes. But some arrived late this evening and it will be at least another 30 minutes until verification can be announced. Counting can't begin until verification is complete. 

Time for a cuppa 

11:27pm: Slough MP Tan Dhesi has entered the building. 

He says he is ‘quietly confident that we will win and I’m sure that the Slough electorate... will bestow their trust in our brilliant set of candidates’. Says Labour had a ‘strong campaign’ and is ‘grateful’ for Labour members campaigning

11.22: You can find out who is standing here 

11:04pm: It's all smiles from council leader James Swindlehurst....but it is only 11pm 


10:55: And a picture of Rob Anderson with his clipboard 

10:52: Reporter James Hockaday has spoken to Conservative Group leader Wayne Strutton.....

10:43: And the first ballot box is in! 

10.40pm: Here is an action shot of some counting 

10:35pm: The first postal votes are in! 


10:20pm: We are here! We will be updating the blog throughout the night to bring you the latest from the election count taking place at the Montem Leisure Centre. 


Leave your comment

Share your opinions on

Characters left: 1500


  • Honestjim

    13:01, 07 May 2018

    Tan confident of labour vote. He should be, he knows that all the Sikhs have been ordered to vote labour. #blockvotes



Most Recent

Most read

Top Ten Articles